Poultry Pioneers

Background: The Center of Excellence for Poultry Science's Pioneer Room in the  John W. Tyson Building was established at the suggestion of the Arkansas Poultry Federation in an attempt to bestow special recognition upon selected individuals who have contributed to the growth and prominence of the poultry industry in Arkansas.

The honorees were selected by a special committee of industry leaders. Some honorees are “pioneers,” being among the first to establish poultry in Arkansas. Others have been “pioneer” innovators within the poultry industry, and some “pioneers” have been instrumental in shaping policy critical to the poultry industry. Those honorees are:

Donald V. Allen
Jeff D. Brown
G. Ted Cameron
Neely Cassady
E.B. Crain
Ted Darragh
Harold Dodgen
Charles Garrett
C.L. George
Gene George
Freeda Greenan
James T. “Red” Hudson
Luther Johnson
Hillman Koen
Lynn Lanier
George Melbourn
Jess Merkle
Leon Millsap
E.H. Peterson
Lloyd E. Peterson
Joe Ray
Roy C. Ritter
Henry Shreve
M.H. “Bill” Simmons
Keith Smith
Harold Snyder
J.K. Southerland
E.L. Stephenson
Leland Tollett
Don Tyson
John Tyson
Collier Wenderoth, Jr.